top of page

Carrot Salad


This is another recipe Grandma copied down from KLTF radio, but I have no idea if she ever made it. It certainly wasn't a frequent item in her repertoire from what I recall. But it's a fairly quick and easy recipe and contains ingredients that we all like, so I decided to give it a try.

My only deviation was leaving out the sugar. Here was my ingredient list:

4 large carrots coarsely grated

1/2 cup chopped dates

1/2 cup pecans, toasted and chopped

1/2 cup pineapple chunks

2 1/2 tablespoons mayonnaise

2 tablespoons plain, full-fat yogurt


I'm not much into mayo-based carrot salads - my go-to carrot salad is made with olive oil and lemon juice instead - but I thought this was a tasty change of pace. The yogurt gave it a nice tang, which I didn't want to mask with sugar. I tasted the salad as I was mixing it up and determined it totally doesn't need any added sugar. The carrots, dates, and pineapple make it sweet enough. My sons didn't mind this salad too much, though they did both note that they'd rather have their dates plain.


bottom of page