top of page

Cultured Cucumber Salad


I grew up eating creamed cucumbers, but I'd just as soon have them plain, fresh out of the garden. Grandma made her share of creamed cucumbers over the years, though I don't ever remember her adding turmeric, as this recipe calls for. Just like some of the other recipes on this site, I'm not sure this exact recipe is one she ever got around to making. But she made something similar.

As someone who got the last good use out of a piece of paper, she wrote this recipe on the inside of an envelope, which helped provide a clue about when she copied it down. The envelope was addressed to her and postmarked 7:30 p.m. August 3, 1971, Fort Frances, Ontario. (Unfortunately there was no return address on the part of the envelope she saved, but I'm guessing it had contained a letter from a family member - she had family there.) Here is the recipe as written:

I was pretty sure that only the grown ups in this family would eat much of this salad, so I made half a batch. I used the following:

1/2 cup cultured sour cream

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon turmeric

2 medium cucumbers, sliced


I mixed all the ingredients together and chilled several hours. It turned out to be about as good as any creamed cucumbers I can recall. Not a favorite, but something that reminded of my childhood. My husband liked these cucumbers best, I think. The kids had their obligatory taste, and one of them even took another spoonful. They still prefer their cucumbers plain, unsalted even.


The recipe directs one to mix everything together and then chill, but if I make it again, I'm going to salt the cucumbers, let them sit a few minutes, and drain them before proceeding to prevent the cream from becoming so runny. I would also add a bit of minced garlic.

bottom of page