top of page

Salad Dressing


Grandma copied this recipe for "Chef's Salad Dressing" down as she was listening to the radio. It caught my eye because, with the addition of tomato sauce, it's a little different than the olive oil and vinegar dressing I most commonly make. (I've been making homemade salad dressing for quite a while now because I can use heart-healthy oil and eliminate the added sugar and excessive salt.)


I wanted to stick close to the recipe the first time, but I couldn't resist adding a bit of dried basil because it goes with the seasonings called for here. I used olive oil because that's what we always use for salads. I cut the salt in half and used ground mustard rather than mustard seeds - that's what I had on hand.


1/3 cup tomato sauce

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup vinegar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon dry ground mustard

1/4 teaspoon soy sauce


Add all ingredients to a jar, cover, and shake well. Pour over salad greens and toss gently.


This was enough dressing for about four meals. I thought it was fine as is, but when I make it again, I'm going to add some finely chopped fresh garlic. Fresh rosemary would be another great addition. I imagine swapping lemon juice for the vinegar would turn out well too.

bottom of page